Hog Island Oysters

MK: “I’ve been coming here for years.  It’s the perfect place to get together with friends on a sunny day for a few rounds of fresh oysters and champagne.  I particularly love their clam chowder – it isn’t thickened with flour, so it’s more broth-like and made with fresh tiny clams.”

Out the Door – Steamed Chicken Bun

MK: “When I’m at the ferry building and I’m looking for a quick snack, I end up with a steamed chicken bun or two in my hands.  It’s quick, it’s portable, and it reminds me of the breakfast my mom would give me before heading off to school as a kid.”

Boccalone Salumeria – Salami Cone

MK: “If you’re a fan of cured meats, you have to swing by Boccalone and get a salami cone!  It’s exactly as it sounds – it’s a cone with a sampling of tasty, cured meats.  They use quality ingredients, and their meats are made locally in the Bay Area.”

Cowgirl Creamery

MK: “Cowgirl Creamery is a great place to check out if you want to sample different cheeses from around the world, but their in-house cheeses are some of my favorites when I’m putting together a cheese platter.  It’s hard for me to walk away without picking up a wheel of their Mt. Tam – it’s always a crowd-pleaser.”

Farmer’s Market on Saturday Mornings & Roli Roti

MK: “Every Saturday there’s a beautiful farmer’s market at the waterfront with incredibly fresh and seasonal produce from local farms – nearly every chef in San Francisco can be seen here picking up their restaurant orders.  But one of the best things about the Saturday farmer’s market is the Roli Roti cart which serves an amazing crispy porchetta sandwich with onion jam and arugula. There’s always a crazy line, but it’s worth the wait.”

// Follow her on Instagram, and check out Seldom Seen’s blog for more up-close hella good interviews. Photography by Daniel Lee.

Also, get your copy of our new issue.


title: “Chef Melissa King S 5 Must Eat Bites At The Ferry Building” ShowToc: true date: “2022-11-24” author: “James Shaw”

Hog Island Oysters

MK: “I’ve been coming here for years.  It’s the perfect place to get together with friends on a sunny day for a few rounds of fresh oysters and champagne.  I particularly love their clam chowder – it isn’t thickened with flour, so it’s more broth-like and made with fresh tiny clams.”

Out the Door – Steamed Chicken Bun

MK: “When I’m at the ferry building and I’m looking for a quick snack, I end up with a steamed chicken bun or two in my hands.  It’s quick, it’s portable, and it reminds me of the breakfast my mom would give me before heading off to school as a kid.”

Boccalone Salumeria – Salami Cone

MK: “If you’re a fan of cured meats, you have to swing by Boccalone and get a salami cone!  It’s exactly as it sounds – it’s a cone with a sampling of tasty, cured meats.  They use quality ingredients, and their meats are made locally in the Bay Area.”

Cowgirl Creamery

MK: “Cowgirl Creamery is a great place to check out if you want to sample different cheeses from around the world, but their in-house cheeses are some of my favorites when I’m putting together a cheese platter.  It’s hard for me to walk away without picking up a wheel of their Mt. Tam – it’s always a crowd-pleaser.”

Farmer’s Market on Saturday Mornings & Roli Roti

MK: “Every Saturday there’s a beautiful farmer’s market at the waterfront with incredibly fresh and seasonal produce from local farms – nearly every chef in San Francisco can be seen here picking up their restaurant orders.  But one of the best things about the Saturday farmer’s market is the Roli Roti cart which serves an amazing crispy porchetta sandwich with onion jam and arugula. There’s always a crazy line, but it’s worth the wait.”

// Follow her on Instagram, and check out Seldom Seen’s blog for more up-close hella good interviews. Photography by Daniel Lee.

Also, get your copy of our new issue.